How can I get over bad habits when it comes to helping the station?

I really like chemistry, it’s been one of my favorite roles since I started playing. But I always have this terrible habit of just disappearing into the back room and ignoring requests. Every time I play I tell myself I’ll try to be helpful, but usually I just get distracted and fuck off. I’ll start making chems I haven’t done before, start messing around with drugs, and pretty much do nothing for the station.

I also just have bad habits in general with playing. It’s to the point where I don’t really play as often because I feel like I don’t really made anyone else’s experience better. I don’t know why I can’t just stop fucking off for the entire round and being an ass, but when I try to actually help I eventually just get bored and mess with people.

Legitimately, if anyone can give some advice or ideas on how I can try to change how I play I would love to hear it. I know I’m probably just annoying others when I play and I really don’t want to be that way. I wanna start enjoying this game again and I’m the only reason I don’t.

If you are ignoring assigned requests you are technically breaking one of the only job expectations for chemist.

If you are wanting an easy way to help the station more, make some helpful drugs and leave them in the lobby. The roundstart sutures and mesh in medbay lobby go quickly, so replace them with some homemade brute/burn meds and they will most definitely get used.

Ask medbay if they want anything made. Go to botony and see if they need saltpetre or dieth etc. You can fit a small factory in their backroom to mass produce it if you want to go that route too.

There’s nothing wrong with staying in the chem factory room and working on projects or experimenting, but if you’re wanting to help others more, try to man the front counter in pharmacy more and I’m certain people will come up and ask you to make things

This.